< Morphogen

1. APPROACH: PHENOMENOLOGY

For a project in 2011 that preceded this paper, I developed a graphic notation by processing both the intuitive imagination and gestic recording of private experiences as well as formal information. The result is a music video for Defective Vending Machine by the Basel-based band The Hoanhiêu. Based on the abstract, note-like score that represents a coherent system, that definitely can be deciphered (the phenomenological lies in the choice of signs), an equivalent in the real image was sought. In the next step, the particular signs are detached from their original meaning and therefore become pure form. A form, that looks for content in the real image - a new visual language. The transformation of the abstract into the supposedly meaningful creates the illusion of a narrative. The observer is able to understand the moving image in different ways.

This technique of image synthesis however can not simply be applied to a highly complex musical composition. With 18 musicians and a time prescription of 208 beats per second, the artist is bombarded by too many impressions to adequately put his inner vision to paper. For Music for 18 Musicians a more comprehensive and flexible system is needed, but more on that later.

While taking notes, this paper begun to turn subjective overall impressions of different aspects of the piece into single sketches. For this purpose, the composition was listened to under ideal conditions in a recording studio (Idee und Klang). In a nondual state of mind, the gestures flowed. While listening to it several times more, other aspects emerged as well. Imaginations of shifting, expansion, dissolving, pulsation and swinging. All this as movement of small, hard, sharp shapes (which have their origin in the wood percussion instruments), as a rotation around a centre and the superimposition of this rotation.

This intuitive method of sketching provided results, which included much of the audible intentions of the composer, yet on a coded, almost unconscious level.

D / E

< Morphogen

1. HERANGEHENSWEISE: PHÄNOMENOLOGIE

Dieses intuitive Imaginieren und gestische Festhalten von privat Erlebtem zum einen und formeller Information zum anderen habe ich in der grafischen Notation für ein Projekt von 2011, das dieser Arbeit voranging, verarbeitet. Das Ergebnis ist ein Musikvideo für Defective Vending Machine von der Basler Band The Hoanhiêu. Ausgehend von der abstrakten, notizenhaften Partitur, die ein kohärentes System darstellt, das durchaus dechiffriert werden kann (das Phänomenologische liegt in der Wahl der Zeichen), wurde nach einer Entsprechung im Realbild gesucht. Dadurch, dass die eigenen Zeichen im nächsten Schritt von ihrem ursprünglichen Sinn gelöst wurden, werden sie zur reinen Form. Eine Form, die im Realbild nach einem Inhalt sucht, einer neuen Bildsprache. Die Transformation vom Abstrakten ins vermeintlich Sinnhafte schafft die Illusion einer Narration. Der Betrachter kann das Bewegtbild auf verschiedene Arten verstehen.

Diese Technik der Bildsynthese lässt sich jedoch nicht ohne weiteres auf eine sehr komplexe Musikkomposition anwenden. Mit 18 Musikern und einer Temporichtlinie von 208 Schlägen pro Sekunde prasseln zuviele Eindrücke auf den Künstler ein, um das innere Bild adäquat auf Papier erstarren zu lassen. Für Music for 18 Musicians wird ein umfassenderes, flexibleres System benötigt, doch dazu später.

Während des Notierens hat diese Arbeit damit begonnen, subjektive Gesamteindrücke von verschiedenen Aspekten des Stücks in einzelnen Skizzen erstarren zu lassen. Dazu wurde die Komposition in einem Tonstudio (Idee und Klang) unter besten Bedingungen angehört. In einem nondualen Denkzustand flossen die Gesten. Bei erneutem Anhören kamen andere Aspekte hinzu. Es ergeben sich Vorstellungen von Verschiebung, Ausbreitung, Auflösung, Pulsieren, Schwingen. Dies als Bewegung von kleinen, harten, spitzen Formen (die ihren Ursprung in den Holzperkussionsinstrumenten finden), das Drehen um ein Zentrum und das Überlagern dieses Drehens.

Diese intuitive Methode des Skizzierens liefert Resultate, welche viel von den hörbaren Absichten des Musikkomponisten enthalten, jedoch auf einer codierten, beinahe unbewussten Ebene.

D / E